The Crime Victims’ Compensation Program (CVCP) of the Oregon Department of Justice may be able to assist with payment of medical bills, counseling costs, funeral and burial costs. CVCP is for victims of a person to person crime. Victims of property crime are not eligible.
To be eligible for CVCP a victim must:
- Be a victim of a crime that occurred in Oregon, or an Oregon resident victimized in a state without a CVCP;
- Report the crime to law enforcement within 72 hours of the crime or disclosure by child victims;
- Cooperate fully to apprehend and prosecute the assailant; and
- Apply for compensation within 6 months of the crime or disclosure by child victims.
If a crime victim is eligible, our office can provide an application. When requested, our office can assist crime victims and relatives, who are not able to do so independently, in gathering information and completing their applications in order to submit a claim for compensation under ORS 147.005 to 147.365.